Skip to content Skip to footer

Lanka Premier League 2023: Kandy Became the New LPL Champion; Beat Dambulla Aura by 5 Wickets

In the final of the Sri Lankan cricketing carnival, Lanka Premier League 2023, Dambulla Aura won the toss against B-Love Kandy and they opted to bat first. The Aura took a long time to begin their at-bat after making the decision to do so. Although Mendis and Samarawickrama put together a 50-run stand at just over a run-a-ball, they lost Fernando early. At the midway point, it appeared as though they were in a secure position, but Chaturanga de Silva quickly turned the tide in Kandy’s favor by taking two wickets. Following some settling in, DDS and Kusal Perera were able to bring up another 50-run stand in the closing stages by hitting some significant boundaries. However, Kandy’s bowlers never truly allowed them the freedom because they bowled quite systematically. Additionally, the wicket was a little bit two-paced and didn’t appear to come on to the bat very well. The target given to Kandy was 148 in 20 overs. Kandy put out a respectable bowling performance. Despite being plagued by injuries and feeling demoralized by the loss of their skipper today, Kandy was able to come together and keep the Aura’s score below par.

In the run chase, Mohammad Haris’ opening partner tonight was Kamindu Mendis, and the two of them got their team off to a brisk start. Without losing a wicket, they managed to score 47 runs off the powerplay with a combination of boundaries and effective strike rotation. When Noor Ahmad defeated Haris in his first over, he made the breakthrough. At three, Chandimal entered the game and took little time to get going while Mendis kept up his good batting form. At the end of the ninth over, Kandy was 74/1, and it appeared that they would win. Dambulla, though, retaliated. Dot balls helped them put pressure on the Kandy hitters, who fell victim as they went from 94/1 to 107/4 in the course of 21 deliveries. Noor was chosen as the best bowler with an impressive figure of 3/27. Asif Ali entered the game when Kandy needed 41 runs off 25 balls and played a brief cameo, scoring two fours and a six. In the last over, a Kusal Perera rocket terminated his innings, but Mathews hit back-to-back fours to down the asking rate to 6 RPO. The seasoned player, who served as today’s acting captain, turned back time and collectedly guided his squad over the finish line.

Kandy become the champions of the 4th season of LPL 2023.

Stay tuned with us for more cricket updates, cricket live score, and more!

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment