Skip to content Skip to footer

Lanka Premier League 2023: Kandy Defeated by Dambulla By 20 Runs Margin

Lanka Premier League 2023: Kandy Defeated by Dambulla By 20 Runs Margin

In the 19th Match of Lanka Premier League 2023, Kandy and Dambulla squared off. Kandy won the toss and opted to bowl first. When given the opportunity to bat, they made a great showing, with their openers scoring 53 runs on the powerplay. Both of the openers seized on Kandy’s wayward bowlers’ lines. After the powerplay, the Aura slipped, and the spinners took control of the situation. Pradeep bowled a double wicket maiden, compared to Mujeeb’s penultimate over, which saw him take two wickets. Dambulla was 104/5 at the end of the 15th over, but they added 58 runs in the final five overs with the help of cameos from McDermott and Hayden Kerr, two Australian players. Dambulla finished on 162/7 in 20 overs. This is hardly a pitch for simple stroke-making and the chase was not a cakewalk for Kandy.

In response to Dambulla’s batting, Kandy sent Mohammed Haris and Fakhar Zaman to open the batting attack. Pramod bowled the first over and gave away 10 of it. Kandy knew they were in for a challenge because 160 has never been pursued in the LPL this season. In the second over, they lost both of their openers to DDS, making the task considerably more difficult. A promoted Hasaranga and Chandimal made sure the powerplay ended successfully, but the two were unable to continue after the latter dragged one onto the stumps. The two senior professionals and Mathews kept the scoreboard going until DDS returned and struck twice in one over. Their last remaining hope was Chandimal, and once he turned fifty, he too started to drag. Udana brought the match to the very last over, but he was unable to solve the equation. Dambulla won by 20 runs.
Stay tuned with us for more LPL live score, Cricket updates, and more.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment