Skip to content Skip to footer

New Zealand vs Bangladesh: New Zealand Won 3rd T20I by 17 Runs According to DLS; Levels Series 1-1

The 3rd T20I between New Zealand and Bangladesh was a thrilling encounter that went down to the wire! New Zealand won the toss and invited Bangladesh to bat first. The match was played at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand. 

New Zealand put up a great display with the ball, while Bangladesh’s batting display was lacklustre. At the Bay Oval, it’s the lowest first-inning total in T20Is. Sarkar was caught in front during the initial over. Despite playing some expansive shots and entering the game with intent, Shanto was unable to keep up with the action. It was then decided that Talukdar was LBW. He would still be alive if he had taken a review. While the Bangladeshi batsmen were having trouble finding rhythm, the spin tandem of Santner and Sodhi worked their magic in the middle overs. The Kiwi captain was rewarded as well, completing with a 4-fer. In the final overs, Milne and Southee brought things to a close. Slower balls did grip, and the bowlers from New Zealand took full advantage of it. Their innings got off to a shaky start, losing wickets early on. However, they managed to recover somewhat, thanks to contributions from Shanto (17) and Hridoy (16). Mitchell Santner was the pick of the bowlers for New Zealand, taking 4 wickets for 16 runs. Bangladesh were eventually bowled out for 110 runs in 19.2 overs.

New Zealand’s chase was also not without its challenges. They lost Tim Sefart and Daryll Mitchell cheaply, leaving them at 29/2 in the powerplay. But  Finn Allen (38) and James Neesham (28*) steadied the innings. Rain interrupted the match with New Zealand on 95/5 in 14 overs. The D/L method was applied, and New Zealand were set a revised target of 74 runs in 10 overs. They reached the target with 3 balls to spare, thanks to a six from Neesham off the penultimate ball. Although it appeared that New Zealand would have an easy go of it, that was not the case. Mahedi gave his side a few significant breakthroughs with his probing bowling. He outwitted Mitchell after getting rid of Seifert. During the powerplay, Shoriful removed another wicket when he hit Phillips with a jaffa. Allen and Chapman collided mid-pitch, with the latter losing his wicket. Even though Allen was looking good, Shoriful was able to take him out with ease once more. The gloomy clouds were gathering, and the Kiwis were behind on DLS at 49/5. Nevertheless, Neesham and Santner teamed together to keep the scoreboard running.

Match awards:

  • Player of the Match: Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)
  • Player of the Series: Shoriful Islam (Bangladesh)

Overall, it was a low-scoring but exciting match, with both teams having their chances to win. In the end, New Zealand held their nerve to claim a narrow victory and level the series 1-1. The players from Bangladesh are free to raise their heads. They lost the first two ODIs, but after that, they had amazing character. They won both their first Twenty20 international match and their first One-day international match played in New Zealand. In the final Twenty20 International, they too battled valiantly till the very end, but a poor batting display prevented them from winning. Conversely, New Zealand did not perform well in this series. However, they would be happy because they won and ended 2023 on a positive note. We’re going to end now and wish you everyone a happy new year ahead of time.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment